Members of your own team or other teams you collaborate with from other parts of your organization may create their own Mural workspaces. There may come a time when you’re all ready to combine efforts into a single workspace.

For this example, let’s assume you have a workspace you no longer want to use (the “retired workspace”) and then a workspace where you want all your content to live (the “consolidated workspace”). Here are the basic steps to consolidate these workspaces:

  1. Invite members to the consolidated workspace.

  2. Move your content from the retired workspace to the consolidated workspace.

  3. Delete the retired workspace.


Contents


Invite members to the consolidated workspace

Make sure everyone you need in the consolidated workspace has been invited. It’s important to do this step first, as it’ll make moving content to this workspace easier. You can invite people via email or by sharing an invitation link with them.

Invite to your workspace via email

To invite a member to your workspace via email:

  1. Click the dropdown arrow next to your workspace name on the Mural dashboard.

  2. Select Manage [workspace name].

  3. Click the Invite people tab on the left side of your screen.

  4. Type the email address of the member you want to invite to your workspace in the Invite people by email address field.

    Note: You can add multiple email addresses at once by clicking Upload CSV and uploading a CSV file of the email addresses you want to invite. Make sure your CSV doesn’t have headers and contains a single column with one email address per row.

  5. Hit Enter or Return on your keyboard to add that email address to the invitation.

    Note: You can add multiple email addresses to a single invitation.

  6. (Optional) Click the Include a custom message checkbox and type your message if you want to add a custom note to your invitation email.

  7. Click Send invitation.

Your invitees will receive an email invitation with a link to join your consolidated workspace!

Invite to your workspace via link

You can also generate an invitation link to share with anyone you’d like to invite to your consolidated workspace. You can copy and paste it into an email together with instructions, or share it in any other channel. Anyone with the link can join the consolidated workspace. If needed, you can delete the link to revoke access and generate a new one. This prevents anyone else from joining with the old link.

To invite a member to your workspace via link:

  1. Click the dropdown arrow next to your workspace name on the Mural dashboard.

  2. Select Manage [workspace name].

  3. Click the Invite people tab on the left side of your screen.

  4. Click Create link.

  5. Clink Copy link to copy the workspace invitation URL to your clipboard.

  6. Share the link with the members you want to invite to your consolidated workspace.


Move your content to the consolidated workspace

Make sure everyone moves any rooms and murals they want to keep from the retired workspace to the consolidated workspace. Your best bet for moving content is to do so in bulk using rooms. We recommend moving your murals into the rooms you’re going to migrate from the retired workspace to the consolidated workspace. Then, when you move the room to its new workspace home, its murals come along for the ride!

Move a room to the consolidated workspace

Moving rooms results in moving all of the murals inside of those rooms, too, which is a very efficient method for moving a vast quantity of murals.

Note: In order to move a room from one workspace to another, you need to have permission to create rooms in the workspace you are moving the room to.

To move a room from the retired workspace to your consolidated workspace:

  1. Select the consolidated workspace from the workspace dropdown menu on your Mural dashboard.

  2. Click Rooms in the left dashboard menu.

  3. Click the room tile for the room you want to move.

  4. Click the three-dot icon to the right of the room’s title.

  5. Select Move to another workspace.

  6. In the Move this room modal, select the consolidated workspace from the dropdown. This is where you want your room and its murals to live.

  7. Click Move room.

Now, that room will live in the consolidated workspace.

Move a mural to the consolidated workspace

Please note that adding murals to a room and migrating the room is still the easier method for moving a large grouping of murals. If you find yourself in a situation where you have created some extremely valuable murals, scattered across various rooms, follow the steps below for moving individual murals.

Note: You must be the mural owner or a room admin in order to move a mural.

To move a mural from the retired workspace to the consolidated workspace:

  1. Select the consolidated workspace from the workspace dropdown menu on your Mural dashboard.

  2. Click the three-dot icon on the mural tile for the mural you want to move.

  3. Select Move.

  4. In the Move mural modal, select the workspace, room, and folder (optional) where you want to move your mural.

  5. Click Move.

That’s that! Your mural now lives in its new home in the consolidated workspace.


Delete the retired workspace

Warning! Deleting a workspace deletes all contents within that workspace. This is permanent and cannot be undone.

Before taking this step, we recommend thinking if there’s any possible reason why you might still need access to this workspace. Could there be a mural in that workspace that you still want to use? Or a member or guest of that workspace not invited yet into the new workspace? Be certain to comb back through all tiers of the workspace before turning off the lights. When you’re completely confident a workspace has no value to you or your team, the workspace admin can delete the retired workspace.

To delete a retired workspace:

  1. Click the dropdown arrow next to your retired workspace name on the Mural dashboard.

  2. Select Manage [workspace name].

  3. Click the Workspace settings tab on the left side of your screen.

  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Delete workspace.

  5. In the confirmation modal, click the Delete workspace button.

The retired workspace and all content inside of it has now been permanently deleted. From here on out, you and your team can continue collaboration in the consolidated workspace!

Did this answer your question?