Not everyone has the same collaboration needs in MURAL. We get that. To help facilitate efficient collaboration, MURAL has different collaborator types and offers different permissions based on each person’s role. In this article, we’ll cover the basic differences between MURAL’s collaborator types (member, guest, and visitor) as well as an overview of the administrator roles. We’ll also offer some resources for a deeper dive into how to work with each collaborator type!

Note: When we say “registered user” throughout this article, it refers to someone who has a MURAL account linked to an email address. They can be members or guests.


Contents


Types of collaborators

Here’s the basic definition and some details of each collaborator type:

Note: Some companies have customized permissions for their collaborators, and the details may differ from what's listed below. If you have questions about your level of permissions, reach out to your company admin or to MURAL's Customer Support.

Member

A member:

  • Is a registered user with full access to features and capabilities that guests and visitors do not have.

  • Is a workspace collaborator with editing and ownership rights of murals or rooms.

  • Typically belongs to your core team.

  • Has a profile.

  • Can create rooms, murals, and invite other collaborators to their rooms or murals.

Guest

All plans except the Free plan and Team+ plan allow guest collaborators.

A guest:

  • Is a registered user that does not have full access to the same features and capabilities as members.

  • Is typically an external stakeholder, partner, or client outside of your company's domain.

  • Has restricted access, such as not being able to create rooms and only having access to rooms they are invited into.

  • Cannot access the share modal to invite other collaborators to the murals they’ve been granted access to.

  • Can facilitate using guest Facilitation Superpowers® on Enterprise plans, when enabled.

  • May be disabled on some Enterprise plans depending on company settings.

Note: Workspace admins can deactivate or reactivate a guest at any time.

Visitor

Visitors are free (unlimited) on all plan types.

A visitor:

  • Is a non-registered user with restricted access to a mural.

  • Can view and/or edit specific murals they’ve been granted access to, depending on the visitor permissions for that specific mural, company, or plan. (Visitors can’t edit murals on the Free plan.)

  • Can only access a mural using a visitor link.

  • (if enabled) Can edit and add content to the mural anonymously (or with their name) without a MURAL account. Visitors on a Free plan have view-only permissions to murals they’re invited to.

  • Cannot access the share modal to invite other collaborators to the murals they’ve been granted access to.

  • May be disabled on some Enterprise plans depending on company settings.

  • Cannot see keyboard shortcuts.

Note: Visitor permissions can be set to view-only or to view and edit. Visitors on a Free plan have view-only permissions to murals they’re invited to.


Administrator roles

There are two types of administrator roles in MURAL: company admins and workspace admins.

Company administrator

A company admin:

  • Is available to Enterprise plans only.

  • Is designated at the onset of a MURAL Enterprise plan.

  • Can access the company dashboard and edit settings on a company level.

  • Can add or delete workspaces and view workspace admins.

Workspace administrator

A workspace admin:

  • Is available to all plans.

  • Can set workspace settings and manage workspace member permissions.

  • Cannot add or delete additional workspaces. Only a company admin can do that. (A workspace admin can, however, delete their own workspace.)

  • Cannot set company-wide settings. Only a company admin can manage company settings.


When to use each collaborator type

This is a question that often comes up. Should I invite my colleague as a member, guest, or visitor? Here are some use cases of when you’d use each collaborator type:

Who should be a member?

Who should be a guest?

Who should be a visitor?

Collaborators typically from within your company’s domain. A member is someone you expect to regularly collaborate.

Collaborators outside the company's domain with access to individual murals or all murals in an open room or private room that they're invited to.

One-time collaborators in a single mural for individual sessions or projects.


How to invite each collaborator type

These are the basic steps to invite each type of collaborator to a mural. For a more in-depth walkthrough on the exact steps to invite people to your mural, check out our Invite and remove collaborators from your mural article.

To invite a member

To invite a guest

To invite a visitor

Members and guests tab on the Share modal in a mural.

Or, via the settings at the workspace, room, or mural level.

Members and guests tab on the Share modal in a mural.

Or, via the settings at the workspace, room, or mural level.

Visitors tab on the Share modal in a mural.


Who can invite each collaborator type

Curious who can invite members, guests, or visitors? No problem. Here’s a table of who can invite each type of collaborator to a mural:

Who can invite a member?

Who can invite a guest?

Who can invite a visitor?

The following collaborator types and roles can invite a member to a mural:

  • Workspace admins.

  • Room admins.

  • Mural owners.

  • Mural members (unless restricted in settings).

  • Company admins bearing one of these other classifications.

The following collaborator types and roles can invite a guest to a mural:

  • Workspace admins.

  • Room admins.

  • Mural owners.

  • Mural members (unless restricted in settings).

  • Company admins bearing one of these other classifications.

Unless restricted in settings, all collaborators in a mural (except for visitors) can invite a visitor to a mural.


Resources

Here are some helpful resources to teach you more about working with different collaborator types:

Did this answer your question?