Available for: Enterprise plan
Set up by: MURAL's Customer Success Team

This article covers Just-in-Time (JIT) provisioning, how to disable JIT, and how to create a customized error landing page for your end-users.


Index


What is JIT?

JIT provisioning is MURAL’s default account-creation flow. When an end-user logs in and their email domain matches a domain of a company in MURAL, MURAL automatically creates an account for the end-user. As a result, they become what’s referred to as a MURAL member.

JIT is great for collaboration, but some organizations want to restrict access and account creation to approved members only. So, company administrators have the option to disable JIT provisioning.

With JIT disabled, you can customize the landing page for non-provisioned members who try to access MURAL. Company admins can add their own custom text to the landing page. And, if desired, admins can include a link to redirect the end-user to the company’s IT help desk so they can request access or a license (e.g. in Jira or ServiceNow).

As an Enterprise customer, here’s what you can customize on your landing page:

Note: To disable JIT, please contact the MURAL Customer Success team.


End-user experience with JIT enabled

When signing up for a MURAL account when JIT is enabled, here’s the flow:

  • MURAL automatically creates a member account.

  • MURAL populates the login with the SAML assertion attributes.

  • The member goes through the single sign-on (SSO) flow.


End-user experience with JIT disabled

When signing up for a MURAL account when JIT is disabled, here’s the flow:

  • End-user can’t access MURAL and lands on the error page. Here’s the default landing page:

  • Company administrators can customize this page and add a link for the end-user to request access.

Here is a diagram showing the end-user experience when JIT is disabled:

Note: To disable JIT, please contact the MURAL Customer Success team.

Did this answer your question?