As an Enterprise plan customer, you have access to a company dashboard where you can control aspects of all the workspaces in your organization. A good place to start customizing how Mural can best work for you is the general page of the company dashboard. Here, you’ll find settings around member permissions, visitors, and more.
Note: The company dashboard is only available as part of Mural's Enterprise plan. For more information, see our Enterprise page.
Company email domains
At the top of your company dashboard is a list of your designated company domains. These are all the possible email domains someone in your organization might have. This list is important because a collaborator’s email domain determines their collaborator type.
Anyone with an email domain on this list who joins one of your Mural workspaces will do so as a member. So, it’s important this list is kept up-to-date. If you notice any issues with this list at any time, reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org.
For more information on collaborator types, see our article on collaborators in Mural.
As the company administrator, you can control whether you want to Allow company members to create new workspaces. When enabled, company members can create new workspaces from their own dashboard. When disabled, only company administrators can create new workspaces from the workspace management page or by contacting Mural support.
In this section, you may also Set a default workspace for company members. When enabled, you can select one of your company workspaces for new members to automatically join when they create a Mural account. When disabled, new members can select a workspace to join from a list of your company workspaces. If new members have any issues joining a workspace initially, they can contact Mural support for assistance.
Here, you can also toggle on or off the Allow company members to view discoverable workspaces setting. This gives members the ability to view and join other workspaces in your company and is enabled by default. If you want to keep workspaces invite-only, you can disable this setting.
When this setting is enabled, you can also set a default invitation requirement for new workspaces. Let’s say you want anyone in your company to be able to view workspaces, but you don’t want them to be able to join those workspaces without an invitation. You can set that here. You can also set workspaces as free to join or allow members to request access themselves.
Mural offers you the option of inviting visitors to collaborate alongside members of your organization. Visitors can only view murals they’re invited to, not entire workspaces. While this can foster great collaboration opportunities, it might not fit the needs of every company. If you don’t want visitors to have access to any of your workspaces, you can disable visitors from the company dashboard.
Your need for visitors might be more nuanced than simply enabling them or disabling them across the board. So, you can choose to allow visitors in some workspaces and not others. If you allow visitors in specific workspaces, the decision falls to the workspace administrator.
You can manage visitor permissions through company-level and workspace-level settings. These permissions include granting edit or view-only access. You might prefer that visitors remain anonymous during their collaboration. If that’s the case, you can set whether visitors are given the option of entering their name upon joining a mural.
Visitor link expiration
The company dashboard gives you another level of control over working with visitors in Mural—the ability to enforce an expiration date on visitor links for all new murals in your company. This gives you further peace of mind when sharing your organization’s content outside the company.
By enabling Enforce visitor expiration for all new murals, you can set a default expiration, which is the number of hours or days after which visitor links will no longer be valid for visitors. To continue collaboration after that time, visitors must be given a new visitor link. Mural owners can set an expiration duration or date on their respective murals, and are also able to edit or extend the expirations on their murals as needed. Company admins on Enterprise accounts can add another layer of security by enforcing a default expiration on all murals in their account.
The default expiration period doesn’t apply to existing murals, only murals created after the settings have been applied. Mural owners can modify the expiration outside of the default period. To ensure visitor links expire within a certain time frame, you can also set a maximum amount of time visitor links are valid. After setting a maximum, mural owners can only shorten the amount of time a visitor link is valid and won’t be able to extend it beyond this maximum period.
Note: A mural’s visitor link is first generated when the mural is created. So, when enforcing visitor link expiration, the expiration period also begins when a mural is created—not at the time of sharing. To invite visitors after the initial expiration has passed, a new link must be generated in the mural’s share modal.
To add an additional layer of security to your Mural workspaces, you can enable two-factor authentication from the company dashboard. You can choose to require two-factor authentication for members, guests, or both. However, if you’ve already enabled SSO (single sign-on), you can only require two-factor authentication for guests as SSO handles this for members.
For more information, see our two-factor authentication article.
Embedding murals in external locations can be a great way to share collaborative work. To embed a mural, company members can generate a link that displays a view-only copy of the mural. You can enable or disable this functionality from the company dashboard.
Similar to allowing visitors, you can choose to allow the creation of embed links from all workspaces. Or, you can enable it in specific workspaces only. If you choose to enable this in specific workspaces, workspace administrators can toggle the setting on or off in their workspace settings page depending on their needs.
For more information, see our article on embedding murals.
With quick talk, mural members can start a voice call right from the mural they’re working in. If visitors are enabled in that mural, they can join these calls too. Quick talk calls make for great in-the-moment collaboration. You can enable or disable quick talk from the company dashboard.
You can either allow quick talk calls in all of your workspaces or enable them in specific workspaces only. If you choose to enable this in specific workspaces, workspace administrators can toggle the setting on or off in their workspace settings page depending on their needs.
For more information, see our quick talk article.
The final setting on this page lets you broadcast a disclaimer banner on all murals in your company directly from the company dashboard.
Let’s say your company works with highly sensitive information that should be treated with extra care. You might choose to display a disclaimer banner to your members reminding them to take extra caution when sharing their work. To do that, check Publish a disclaimer on company murals and enter your message in the text field.
For more information, see our disclaimer banner article.
Now you’re familiar with the settings on the General page of the company dashboard and how you can make the most out of Mural in your organization. If you’re looking for detailed information on any other company dashboard pages, check out the following articles: