MURAL’s real magic begins when you invite teammates to collaborate together. Those teammates might be members of your organization or others you want to share ideas with. There are different collaborator types: member, guest, or visitor. And depending on their collaborator type, people may have different permissions. On top of that, administrators have their own set of powers and permissions.

MURAL also offers different plan types (Free, Team+, Business, and Enterprise plans, for example). And each plan type has its own capabilities and features around inviting collaborators. If you have any questions about inviting collaborators, don’t worry! This article helps you understand permissions for each collaborator type, any restrictions or special features offered by your MURAL plan, as well as a few go-to tips and reminders around inviting collaborators.


Contents


Permissions by collaborator type

When inviting others to MURAL, you may have an idea of what role you want each teammate or participant to play. MURAL has five different roles for collaborators, each with its own set of abilities:

  • Company admins manage company-wide settings.

  • Workspace admins manage the workspace.

  • Members are core team members or facilitators that have full collaboration access.

  • Guests are external stakeholders, partners, and clients outside of your company's domain. They have slightly restricted access.

  • Visitors are one-time collaborators with restricted access. If enabled, visitors will also be able to edit and add content to the mural anonymously (or with their name) in a mural without a MURAL account via a shared visitor link.

Note: Company admins are only available as part of MURAL’s Enterprise plan. Guests are only available as part of Enterprise and Business plans.

Here’s a diagram breaking down the differences in permissions based on collaborator type:

For more information on collaborator types, check out Types of collaborators in MURAL.


Inviting collaborators to private or confidential rooms

Sometimes, you might want to keep your work restricted to a smaller group of people. Private rooms are invite-only, which means others in your workspace won’t see them unless you invite them. Since the entire room is invite-only, though, keep in mind that you must invite collaborators to access that room and invite them to access a mural in that room if you want to grant them access. Simply inviting a collaborator to a mural inside a private room will not grant them access unless they are also invited to the room.

Note: Private rooms are only available on our Team+, Business, and Enterprise plans.

For more on rooms and their security options, check out our What is a room? article.

Enterprise plans also offer confidential rooms, which come with even more security measures. A relevant example around inviting collaborators is that you can only invite collaborators to confidential rooms by email. You are not able to invite others to a confidential room using an invitation link. Keep that in mind if you’re working on an Enterprise plan.

Note: Confidential rooms are only available on our Enterprise plan. You can find more details in our confidential rooms article.


Inviting first-time collaborators to a workspace

When inviting collaborators, keep in mind the overall structure of a MURAL account. Murals are part of rooms, and rooms are part of workspaces. If you invite someone to a mural who shares your company’s domain, they automatically become a member of the workspace that holds that mural. If you invite a visitor to that mural, they can only view that mural. If you have any issues when inviting collaborators, start by checking the settings in your mural’s share modal.


Workspaces without visitors

Visitors aren’t necessary for everyone working in MURAL. For example, maybe you work at a larger company who doesn’t allow anonymous collaborators. To make MURAL work best for all our customers, we do offer the option of disabling visitors. If visitors have been disabled in your workspace, you won’t be able to invite them to work in your workspaces, rooms, or murals. If you run into this and have any questions or think visitors might be disabled by mistake, contact your workspace administrator.

Now you’re familiar with collaborator types and some of the nuances that will help you make the most of working with others in MURAL! For more information on how to invite collaborators, check out the following resources:

Did this answer your question?