MURAL is a digital platform that enables people to collaborate visually. All of your content is automatically saved to the cloud. Rest assured that your content is safe and secure. This article details how MURAL organizes your content and the levels of privacy that you can use in your account.

Index

MURAL accounts explained
MURAL organizational structure

MURAL accounts explained

In MURAL, accounts are organized in the context of a workspace.

A MURAL member is anyone that is invited into a MURAL workspace. A collaborator is our general term for members, visitors, and guests.

  • MURAL members can be part of multiple workspaces. This article explains how to switch between workspaces.

  • Billing is handled per workspace, unless you are on an Enterprise plan where you can pay for members who belong to multiple workspaces.

  • We recommend keeping your teams in a single workspace, so your murals are organized in one place. You can then use private, confidential, and open rooms and folders to manage content and allow access as desired.

For more information on members, guests, and other types of collaborators, check out Types of collaborators in MURAL.

MURAL organizational structure

All of your content in MURAL is organized within a workspace. Here are some things to know:

  • A collaborator may have access to multiple workspaces.

  • A workspace may have multiple rooms; these are either private, confidential or open. Private rooms can only be seen by those invited in. Confidential rooms offer an added level of security and are only available on our Enterprise plans.

  • A room may have multiple folders and murals.

This is the standard structure of a MURAL workspace:

*Private rooms are only available on our Team+, Business, and Enterprise plans.

Our Enterprise plan allows for even greater flexibility, a larger user base, and a deeper structure. Here's what the Enterprise structure looks like.

In Enterprise, a company can have multiple workspaces, which have rooms and their respective folders and murals.

Collaborators in a workspace may have the following permissions.

  • Inviting a member in at the room level gives them access to all of the folders and murals in that room.

  • A member invited to one mural can only see that mural in the room. They are able to see the folder names, but will not be able to see the murals unless they are invited directly.

  • Members have to be invited to private rooms in order to see them.

  • A member with permission to see open rooms can see all open rooms, folders, and murals inside those rooms.

  • Read more about invitations in the article Inviting collaborators to your workspace.

  • For more information on guests and visitors (and their permissions), check out the articles Invite guests to a room or mural or Invite visitors to collaborate.

For more information on workspace permissions, check out the following articles:

Did this answer your question?