Transferring ownership of content happens when someone leaves a workspace. Let’s say your work on a project is finished so you no longer need access to a particular workspace. You can leave that workspace and transfer your murals and rooms to someone else who isn’t leaving. Or, you might be a workspace admin and need to clean up the list of members in your workspace. When you remove a member, you can transfer their content to someone else.

Note: You can only transfer content to one other person.


Contents


Leave a workspace and transfer ownership

When you leave a workspace, you can select the rightful heir for your content. The process is similar whether you’re a collaborator or a workspace admin, but there are a few differences. Follow the steps in one of the two following sections depending on your role in the workspace.

As a collaborator

If you’re a collaborator in a workspace, you can leave it right from your workspaces page. You’ll then be prompted to choose another collaborator to inherit the content you own.

To transfer your content by leaving a workspace where you are a collaborator:

  1. Go to the My workspaces page.

  2. Click the Leave button to the right of the Workspace you want to leave.

  3. Type the name of the new owner of your content in the Leave workspace modal.

  4. Click Continue.

  5. Click Leave workspace to confirm.

You’ve successfully left the workspace and transferred your content! The person you designated to take over your content will receive an email notifying them that they have new content.

As an administrator

If you’re an administrator of the workspace you’re trying to leave, you’ll first need to designate a new administrator. Then, you can leave the workspace and transfer your content.

Note: You can tell that you’re a workspace administrator if you see Manage instead of Leave beside a workspace name on your My workspaces page.

To transfer your content by leaving a workspace where you are an administrator:

  1. Go to the My workspaces page.

  2. Click the Manage button to the right of the workspace you want to leave.

  3. Click Workspace members in the left sidebar.

  4. Select the checkbox in the Workspace admin column of one of your collaborators to make them a workspace administrator.

    Note: You may have to scroll to the far right of the page to see this column. You can make more than one person a workspace admin, but there must be at least one other admin other than you for you to leave the workspace.

  5. Hover next to your own name and click the gear icon.

  6. Select Leave workspace.

  7. On the Remove from workspace modal, click Continue.

  8. Type the name of the new owner of your content in the Leave workspace modal.

  9. Click Continue.

  10. Click Leave workspace to confirm.

You’ve left the workspace! You’ll no longer see this workspace listed on your My workspaces page. And the person you designated to take over your content will receive an email notifying them.


Remove a member and transfer ownership

If you’re an admin of a workspace, you can also transfer someone else’s content by removing that person from your workspace. You can choose to either become the owner of this member’s content or transfer it to someone else.

To transfer content by removing a member from a workspace:

  1. Go to the My workspaces page.

  2. Click the Manage button to the right of the workspace you want to remove a member from.

  3. Click Workspace members in the left sidebar.

  4. Hover next to the member you want to remove and click the gear icon.

  5. Click Remove member.

  6. Select either Become the owner of their murals and rooms or Transfer ownership to someone else.

  7. Click Continue in the modal.

  8. If you chose to transfer ownership to someone else, type that person’s name.

  9. Click Continue in the modal.

  10. Click Transfer and remove to confirm.

A success message lets you know that the member has been removed. If you chose to take over this member’s content, you’ll receive an email with more information. If you designated someone else to take over, they’ll receive the email. Now you can rest assured that all content is in good hands when leaving or removing members from a workspace.

Did this answer your question?