A single workspace can have a great number of collaborators. As the workspace administrator, you need a place to view and manage the permissions for all of those collaborators. The workspace settings page offers that. Here, you can keep track of settings around inviting collaborators, membership/guest status, and more.


Contents


Access workspace settings

Workspace admins can access the workspace settings page from any page of the MURAL dashboard.

To access workspace settings:

  1. Click your workspace name in the top-left corner of the dashboard.

  2. Click Manage [workspace name].

Now, you’re on the workspace settings page where you can ensure the workspace is configured to best suit your needs. At the top of the page, you’ll find the following general workspace information fields:

  • Workspace name.

  • Billing email address.

  • VAT number.

  • Description.

You can click in any of these fields to update their information. You can also change the avatar for your workspace by clicking the current avatar and choosing a new one. Using an avatar makes your workspace easily identifiable for your members.


Invite permissions

As the owner of a workspace, you have the power to determine who your workspace members can invite to collaborate. From the dropdown, you can choose to let current workspace members invite:

  • New members and guests.

  • Only new members.

  • Only new guests.

  • No new members or guests.

You can also set a period of time after which inactive guests are automatically deactivated. This helps keep your workspace free from guest access once it‘s no longer needed. To enable this, select the Automatically deactivate guests after a period of inactivity checkbox and then enter a number of days after which guests will be disabled.


Share link (visitor link) permissions

MURAL lets collaborators invite visitors to their murals using visitor links. Visitors are external collaborators who do not have a MURAL account. From the workspace settings page, selecting or deselecting the Allow workspace members to invite visitors enables or disables visitors in your workspace.

With visitors enabled, you can customize their permissions. Selecting Allow visitors to edit murals gives workspace members the ability to choose between giving visitors edit access or view-only access. You can also set a default permission level for all visitor links sent from your workspace.

Visitor link permissions options are:

  • View.

  • Edit.

  • Off (disable visitor links).

Note: Setting a new default value here only applies to murals created after the change. Your new selection does not apply to existing murals.

In this section, you can also select or deselect the setting Allow visitors to enter their name when joining a mural. If the visitor enters a name, this shows alongside their cursor just like members and guests. You might choose to disable this so visitors stay fully anonymous.

Note: When allowing visitors to enter a name, we cannot guarantee the name they enter is their real identity.

While the workspace settings page offers you a lot of control over visitor links, keep in mind that company administrators and mural owners can set link expiration windows that will not be reflected on the workspace settings page. For more information, see our Invite visitors to collaborate article.


Private room access

Private rooms add another level of security to your collaboration because they require an invitation to join. As the workspace administrator, you can decide whether collaborators must be invited via email to join private rooms or whether invite links can be generated for private rooms. Select ​​Only members with email invites can join murals in private rooms to disable invite links for private rooms and the murals in them.


Embedding murals

Embedding murals outside of MURAL can be a great way to showcase your ideas and work. Your workspace members can do this by default, but you can disable this option from the workspace settings page.

Note: Enterprise plan company administrators can disable this at a company level. If you want to change this setting but don’t have the option, reach out to your company administrator.


Join workspace permissions

Next on the page are a set of workspace joining permissions. Chances are good your workspace is one of many in your organization. From the workspace settings page, you can determine whether others in your organization can view and join your workspace without an invitation. If you set your workspace to Invite only, only those who are explicitly invited (via MURAL’s share option) can join. If you want anyone in your organization to be able to join, you can also choose whether to let them in automatically or if they need to request join first.


Quick talk

With quick talk, mural members can start a voice call right from the mural they’re working in. If visitors are enabled in that mural, they can join these calls too. Quick talk calls make for great in-the-moment collaboration. You can enable or disable quick talk from the workspace settings page.

Note: Enterprise plan company administrators can disable quick talk at a company level. If you want to change this setting but don’t have the option, reach out to your company administrator.

For more information, see our quick talk article.

Did this answer your question?