Folders help room owners or admins manage and organize murals within a room. With folders, you can make murals easier to find and share.

Folders are great for:

  • reducing clutter and increase workspace efficiency

  • grouping related murals together to improve discoverability

  • shortening navigation time

  • encouraging more collaboration across an organization

Index

Overview

Creating folders

Changing folder details

Adding, moving, and removing murals from a folder
Deleting a folder

Frequently asked questions

Overview

Folders are available to all paid plans. Folders can be created in open, private, and confidential rooms by the room owner or administrator.

What can room owners and administrators do with folders?

  • Create folders within a room.

  • Create sub-folders within a folder.

  • Move folders (and their contents) between rooms.

  • Rename and delete folders.

What can room members do with folders?

  • Browse the folder hierarchy, see where they are via breadcrumb, and easily back-navigate.

  • Drag-and-drop murals into a folder.

Folder hierarchy and security

  • Rooms can hold up to three levels of folders, and each folder can hold up to 50 sub-folders.

  • Folder depth limit: Room –> Folder A –> Folder AA –> Folder AAA (the create folder button won’t be available within Folder AAA).

  • Folders inherit the permissions of the room. Folders do not have their own security or privacy beyond room controls.

  • Partial members of a room (room members that are only invited to individual murals) will not be able to view the folder hierarchy.

Creating Folders

While viewing a room, click the ⨁ button next to the Folders header to add a folder. Set the name for the folder in the Folder name field. The + button only appears for room owners and administrators.

Changing folder details

To change the name of a folder, click on the folder's drop-down and select Rename. Only the room owner or administrator can rename a folder.

Adding, moving, and removing murals from a folder

There are several ways mural editors can move murals to a folder:

  1. Drag and drop. Just drag and drop a mural to a folder.

  2. Use the drop-down. On a mural's thumbnail, click the drop-down arrow. Then, select move and choose a folder to move the mural to.

  3. Remove from the current folder. if you would like to take a mural out of its folder, select No folder.

4. Move between rooms. You can also move a folder from one room to another.

*Note: Putting a shared mural in a private folder won’t make the mural private — users with whom this mural is shared will still be able to access it.

Deleting a folder

To delete a folder, you must be a room owner or administrator. On a mural's thumbnail, click the drop-down arrow and select Delete folder.

⚠️ *​Note: Deleting a folder will delete all of the murals within the folder. ⚠️

Enjoy the ease of an organized workspace. Spend less time searching and more time collaborating!

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. When I move a mural to a folder, does the mural link change?
    No, it does not.

  2. Can I duplicate a folder?
    No, this is not currently possible right now. We’re planning on building this capability in the future so that you can easily duplicate a folder and its contents.

  3. Is there a way to archive a folder?
    No, at the moment, this functionality is not supported.

  4. Can I share folders?
    No, but you can share particular murals or invite them to the room.

  5. Can I create a link to a folder?
    No, this is not currently possible.

  6. How do I create a mural inside a folder?
    Go to the folder and click Create mural on the left workspace toolbar.

  7. Can I set specific share permissions for a folder?

    No, the folder inherits the same permissions as the room, so if a member has access to the room, they will have access to the folders and their contents in that room. You can simply share a mural without sharing access to that entire private or confidential room.

Did this answer your question?