User roles and access

I have invited people to my Mural -- why are they counted as members?

What is the difference between Invite people and visitor links?

How can I generate a visitor link?

How do I remove visitors from my Mural?

How can I remove a member from my workspace?

Can guests be facilitators?

How do I convert guests to members?

How do I convert members to guests?

How do I transfer ownership of a canvas?

How do I make someone a mural owner?

Can guests or visitors create new murals?

Why can't I invite new members to a workspace?

How can I make someone a facilitator of a mural?

I have invited people to my Mural -- why are they counted as members?

It depends on how you have invited them to the workspace, their email domain, and your company settings. When you click on the “Share” button in the top right corner, you’ll see a tab that says “Invite People” and another tab that says “Visitor link”.

‘’Invite people’’ tab

If you invite an external user whose email domain is different than your organization’s via the ‘’Invite people’’ tab, they will automatically enter as guests. If their email has the same domain as your organization, they will enter as a member. If the user has a different email domain than your organization but they still appear as a member, it is probably because your company has added this domain to the list of company domains. Feel free to reach out to the Support team if you’d like to verify the list of company domains for your organization.

*Note: Guests are not available for all plans. You can check out our different plans on our pricing page.

‘’Visitor link’’ tab

If you invite a user with the visitor link, the will not enter as a guest or member, but rather will join as a visitor. Visitors are free of charge and unlimited in number across all plans.

Visitors can also choose to enter their name upon joining the mural This feature is available across all plan types.

You can select if you would like visitors to come in with edit permissions or with view only permission. Below this section, you will also see the option to add a password to the visitor link.

Users who join with edit permissions will be able to create and edit content in the mural

Those who join with view permissions won't be able to edit but will see changes in real-time and can follow users and be followed.

What is the difference between Invite people and visitor links?

We recommend using the visitor link for short term collaboration. A visitor can only access the mural that they have received a link to - they cannot access anything else in the workspace unless explicitly invited. Visitors do not have access to a dashboard.Inviting users in as guests/members via the “Invite people” tab is best for users that will be collaborating with you more regularly and would benefit from accessing a dashboard with a list of murals that they have access to.

How can I generate a visitor link?

You can generate a visitor link by going to the pink “Share” button on the upper right-hand corner of the mural. Choose the permissions you’d like the visitors to have and then select ‘copy link.’

How do I remove visitors from my Mural?

To remove visitors from your mural, click on the ''Share'' button in the top right corner, go to the “Visitor link” tab, and click ''Reset link'' at the bottom left corner, like this:

Once you reset the invite link, every visitor will automatically be kicked out of the mural. Any user who had the previous visitor link will no longer be able to access this mural if not given the updated visitor link.

How can I remove a member from my workspace?

If you are the workspace admin, you have the capability to remove members. You can do so by following these steps:

  1. Select the drop down menu on the left hand corner of the screen.

  2. Choose Workspace members”

  3. Check the member list for the member you would like to remove, or type their name on the search bar

  4. Scroll all the way to the right on their name to select the “remove user” option

  5. Choose whether you would like to stay with their content or transfer ownership to someone else

Can guests be facilitators?

Guests cannot be facilitators. Only members can be facilitators. Each user type’s permissions are outlined here:

How do I convert guests to members?

Depending on your plan, (particularly EDU) you may be able to convert guests to members. This functionality is not available in most plans. For example, most of those on our Enterprise network can only have external users to their domain as a guest and internal domains as members.

Here's how:

1. Go to your drop-down menu on the left-hand corner of the screen

2. Select "Workspace members"

3. In the All or Members tab, hover over the gear icon next to the users name and email

4. Select convert to member.

How do I convert members to guests?

Depending on your plan, (particularly EDU) you may be able to convert members to guests. This functionality is not available in most plans. For example, most of those on our Enterprise network can only have external users to their domain as a guest and internal domains as members.

Here's how:

1. Go to your drop-down menu on the left-hand corner of the screen

2. Select "Workspace members"

3. In the All or Members tab, hover over the gear icon next to the users name and email

4. Select convert to guest.

*Note: Only external members who do not have your organization’s email domain can be converted.

How do I transfer ownership of a canvas?

You can mark someone as a mural owner by going into mural settings:

Then you can remove yourself from the mural settings.

How do I make someone a mural owner?

Go to the mural settings and then mark a person as a mural owner:

Can guests or visitors create new murals?

Guests cannot create new murals. Visitors also can not create new murals. This feature is limited to workspace members.

Each user type’s permissions are outlined here:

Why can't I invite new members to a workspace?

Some organizations have disabled the ability for members to invite certain users to the workspace. The workspace admin has the following options:

If the workspace admin has disabled the ability for members to invite new members, a workspace admin will need to invite them in initially to join the workspace. Once they've been added to the workspace by the admin, you'll be able to add them to any rooms or murals they need access to.

Feel free to reach out to your workspace or company admins for more information. If you are unsure who your admins are feel free to reach out to our Support team via chat or email at support@mural.co.

How can I make someone a Facilitator of a mural?

You can mark someone as a Facilitator of a mural following these steps:

Did this answer your question?