FAQ - Member roles and access

Frequently asked questions about member roles and access.

Have questions regarding member roles and how they access MURAL? We put together some of the most popular questions for understanding these roles and how to best use them.

Index


What is a member?

A member is a workspace user with editing and ownership rights of multiple murals or rooms. Members typically belong to your core team as they need uninterrupted access to MURAL. Members have a profile, consume licenses, can create rooms, murals, and invite others.


I invited people to my mural. Why are they counted as members?

It depends on how you invited them to the workspace, their email domain, and your company settings. When you click on the Share button in the top right corner of the mural, you’ll see a tab that says Members (and guests) and another tab that says Visitors.

Members and guests

Suppose you invite an external collaborator via the Members and guests tab, and their email domain is different than your organization’s domain. In that case, they’ll automatically enter the shared mural as guests. If their email has the same domain as your organization, they'll enter as a member.

If the collaborator has a different email domain than your organization, but they still appear as a member, it’s probably because your company added this domain to the list of company domains. Feel free to reach out to the Support team to verify the list of company domains for your organization.

*Note: Guests are not available for all plans. You can check out our different plans on our pricing page.

Visitors

If you invite a collaborator with the visitor link, they won’t enter as a guest or member, but rather join as a visitor. Visitors are free of charge and unlimited in number across all plans.

Visitors can also choose to enter their name upon joining the mural. This feature is available across all plan types.

You can select if you want visitors to have "can edit" or "can view" (view-only) permission. You’ll also have the option to add a password to the visitor link.

Visitors who join with edit permissions can create and edit content in the mural.

Those who join with "can view" (view-only) permissions can't edit, but experience changes in real-time. They can also follow others and be followed.


What is the difference between inviting people and visitor links?

We recommend using the visitor link for short-term collaboration. A visitor can only access the mural that they received a link to. They can’t access anything else in the workspace unless explicitly invited. Visitors don’t have access to a dashboard.

Inviting collaborators in as guests/members via the Invite people tab is best for collaborators that will be with you regularly. This also allows them to access the dashboard with a list of murals they have access to.


How can I generate a visitor link?

You can generate a visitor link by using the pink Share button on the top right-hand corner of the mural. Choose the permissions you want the visitors to have, then click Copy link.


How do I remove visitors from my mural?

To remove visitors from your mural:

1. Click the Share button in the top-right corner of your mural.

2. Go to the Visitors tab.

3. Click the Reset link icon.

4. Click the pink Reset link button.

When you reset the invite link, every visitor is automatically kicked out of the mural. Any collaborator that follows the previous visitor link can no longer access this mural. Only visitors following the new, updated visitor link will have access.


How can I remove a member from my workspace?

  1. In the top-left of the dashboard, click the workspace name dropdown.

  2. Select Workspace members.

  3. Here you can either remove using the more actions (gear) or the remove member (trash) icon.

To remove with the gear icon:

  1. Hover your cursor to the right of the guest's email.

  2. Click the more actions (gear) icon.

  3. Select Remove.

  4. Choose whether you will become the owner of their murals and rooms or transfer ownership of content to someone else.

  5. Click the Continue button (here you can select who will become the owner of the content).

  6. Click the Transfer and remove button.

To remove with the trash icon:

  1. Find the guest you want to remove.

  2. Go all the way to the right-hand side of the row.

  3. Click the remove member (trash) icon.

  4. Choose whether you will become the owner of their murals and rooms or transfer ownership of content to someone else.

  5. Click the Continue button (here you can select who will become the owner of the content).

  6. Click the Transfer and remove button.


Can guests be facilitators?

Only members or mural owners can be facilitators. Here are the permissions for each type of collaborator:


How do I convert guests to members?

Depending on your plan, you may be able to convert guests to members. This functionality is not available in most plans, but does apply to Educational accounts. For example, most Enterprise plan customers can only invite collaborators with external domains as a guest and internal domains as members.

To convert guests to members:

1. Go to the dropdown menu on the left-hand corner of the dashboard.

2. Select Workspace members.

3. In the Guests tab, hover over the More options (gear) icon next to the guest’s name and email.

4. Select Convert to member.

5. Click Continue.

6. Choose the permissions for the new member.

7. Click Convert.


How do I convert members to guests?

Depending on your plan, you may be able to convert members to guests. This functionality is not available in most plans, but does apply to Educational accounts. For example, most Enterprise plan customers can only invite collaborators with external domains as a guest and internal domains as members.

To convert members to guests:

1. Go to the dropdown menu on the left-hand corner of the screen.

2. Select Workspace members.

3. In the All or Members tab, hover over the More options (gear) icon next to the member’s name and email.

4. Select Convert to guest.

5. Click Continue.

6. Select whether you Become the owner of their murals and rooms or Transfer ownership to someone else.

*Note: Only external members who don’t have your organization’s email domain can be converted.


How do I transfer ownership of a mural?

The best way to transfer ownership of a single mural is to request your teammate duplicate the mural. Your teammate will be the owner of the duplicated mural.

If you want to transfer ownership of multiple murals, make that teammate a room admin of the room where the murals are located. By becoming room admin, they will also become co-owner of all the murals in that room.

Note that this will affect all murals in that room.


Can guests or visitors create new murals?

No. This feature is limited to workspace members.

Here are the permissions for each type of collaborator:


Why can't I invite new members to a workspace?

Some workspace admins may disable the ability for members to invite certain collaborators to the workspace. The workspace admin has the following options:

If a workspace admin disabled the ability for members to invite new members, a workspace admin must invite new members to join the workspace. Once a new member has been added to the workspace, you can add them to any rooms or murals they need access to.

Reach out to your workspace or company admins for more information. If you’re unsure who your admins are, check with our Support team.

Did this answer your question?