MURAL’s real magic begins when you invite teammates to collaborate together. Those teammates might be members of your organization or others you want to share ideas with. There are different collaborator types: member, guest, or visitor. And depending on their collaborator type, people may have different permissions. On top of that, administrators have their own set of powers and permissions.

MURAL also offers different plan types (Free, Team+, Business, and Enterprise plans, for example). And each plan type has its own capabilities and features around inviting collaborators. If you have any questions about inviting collaborators, don’t worry! This article helps you understand permissions for each collaborator type, any restrictions or special features offered by your MURAL plan, as well as a few go-to tips and reminders around inviting collaborators.


Contents


Permissions by collaborator type

When inviting others to MURAL, you may have an idea of what role you want each teammate or participant to play. MURAL has five different roles for collaborators, each with its own set of abilities:

  • Company admins manage company-wide settings.

  • Workspace admins manage the workspace.

  • Members are core team members or facilitators that have full collaboration access.

  • Guests are external stakeholders, partners, and clients outside of your company's domain. They have slightly restricted access.

  • Visitors are one-time collaborators with restricted access. If enabled, visitors will also be able to edit and add content to the mural anonymously (or with their name) in a mural without a MURAL account via a shared visitor link. On the Free plan, visitors have view-only permissions unless they request access to the workspace and become a member.

Notes:

  • Company admins are only available as part of MURAL’s Enterprise plan.

  • Guests are only available as part of Enterprise and Business plans.

  • Not all plans have visitors enabled with edit access. For the best collaborative experience, we recommend inviting collaborators as members. Or, on the Free plan, visitors can request access to the workspace and become a member.

Here’s a diagram breaking down the differences in permissions based on collaborator type:

For more information on collaborator types, check out Types of collaborators in MURAL.


Inviting first-time collaborators to a workspace

When inviting collaborators, keep in mind the overall structure of a MURAL account. Murals are part of rooms, and rooms are part of workspaces. If you invite someone to a mural who shares your company’s domain, they automatically become a member of the workspace that holds that mural. If you invite a visitor to that mural, they can only view that mural. If you have any issues when inviting collaborators, start by checking the settings in your mural’s share modal.


Workspaces without visitors

Visitors aren’t necessary for everyone working in MURAL. For example, maybe you work at a larger company who doesn’t allow anonymous collaborators. To make MURAL work best for all our customers, we do offer the option of disabling visitors. If visitors have been disabled in your workspace, you won’t be able to invite them to work in your workspaces, rooms, or murals. If you run into this and have any questions or think visitors might be disabled by mistake, contact your workspace administrator.

Now you’re familiar with collaborator types and some of the nuances that will help you make the most of working with others in MURAL! For more information on how to invite collaborators, check out the following resources:

Did this answer your question?