Instead of removing members from your workspace and transferring their content to a new owner, you can now deactivate them. This will free up their membership seat, and allow the user to request reactivation in the future. All of the user’s content will remain available and, should they be reactivated, would seem as if nothing ever happened. Guests users can also be deactivated.
In this article we’ll lay out what deactivation looks like from the perspective of the workspace admin, as well as the person who’s been deactivated.
Here’s how it works for admins:
- Click on the workspace name in the upper left corner, and select ‘Workspace Members’.
- Find the person you want to deactivate, and scroll horizontally over to the far right of the members page.
- Hover over where the persons name/email is and a hear icon will appear. Select "Deactivate Member/Guest" (don’t worry, you’ll get a pop-up window that will walk you through the process).
- Confirm you want to deactivate the person, and select ‘deactivate’.
Good to know: Access Requests
If a deactivated user logs in, they will see a message that lets them know they can request access from the admin (or create their own new workspace). See more on this below.
All workspace admins will receive an email notification letting you know when there is an active request.
When you click on ‘Go to members page’, you’ll be taken to the ‘Workspace Members’ page. To reactivate the person, click on the gear icon under the More Actions column and choose "Reactive guest" or "Reactivate member," depending how you want them reactivated.
Here’s how it works from the deactivated person’s perspective:
- When you try to log in at app.mural.co, or switch to a workspace where you have been deactivated, you’ll see this screen:
- Once your reactivation request has been granted, you’ll receive an email notification that looks like this:
Now you can enjoy more flexibility in how you manage people's access to your workspace.