The real magic of MURAL begins when you invite your teammates and collaborate together in murals. In this article, we'll give you an overview of:

Invite Collaborators to a Mural

You can share your mural with other collaborators, or you can export or embed the mural as read-only.

To share with collaborators, you'll first need to open the Share modal. Click the pink SHARE button in the top right corner of your mural. (You can also click the '+' sign next to your avatar at the bottom of the mural.)

Next, you'll select how you want to share the mural.

Share by link

  1. Open the Share modal.

  2. Click Copy link.

  3. Share the URL to invite non-members to collaborate quickly and securely.

Share by email or name

If your workspace has guests enabled, people outside of your workspace domain will be invited in as guests.

  1. Open the Share modal.

  2. Click Email or name.

  3. Type a name or email, choose their permission level, and hit Enter or Return on your keyboard. (Or, select the person from the dropdown.)

  4. (Optional) Add a custom message.

  5. Click Send Invites. The invitee receives an email invitation.

Share from a mobile device

Mobile devices (phones and tablets) can also share links to murals, though the process is a little different.

To share from your mobile device

  1. Tap the Share button in the upper right-hand corner.

  2. Tap Share Invite Link.

  3. Send the link to your teammates.

Shown here on an iPad.

Read-only sharing

For a read-only version of your mural, you can export a copy of the mural, or embed the mural in a public webpage or app. These options are a safe way to share your mural and ensure that no changes can be made to your original.

To export a read-only copy of the mural

  1. Open the share modal.

  2. Click Export.

  3. Select either PDF, PNG, or ZIP file.

  4. Click Export mural. Your browser saves the exported mural to your default downloads folder.

  5. Share this file with other people however you like.

MURAL has additional options for exporting content. For more information, see this article.

To embed a read-only copy of your mural

Generate an embed link that can be used in the code of a web page or app. An embedded mural is a read-only copy that people can navigate.

  1. Open the share modal.

  2. Click Embed. (You may need to click Enable Embedding to allow the mural to be embedded elsewhere.)

  3. Copy the Embed link or Embed snippet (whichever you need).

  4. Click Done.

  5. Paste the link or snippet in your web page or app.

For more information on embedding murals, see this article.


Invitee Permissions

People invited with "Edit" permissions can:

  • Edit, comment, vote, and export the mural

  • Follow other users in the mural, or be followed themselves

  • Invite other users to the mural

  • Create murals

  • Create rooms*

* The ability to create rooms is managed under Workspace member permissions.

People invited with "View Only" permissions can:

  • View the mural without signing in

  • See changes made to the mural in real-time

  • Follow other users in the mural, or be followed themselves

View-only users can not edit, comment, vote, or export the mural.

View-only users will not see any buttons on the top or left-side toolbar.

Password protect your murals

To keep your mural private, protect it with a password. You can do this under the Visitors tab in the share modal.

To protect your mural with a password

  1. Open the share modal.

  2. In the bottom left, click Add a password.

  3. Enter a password in the Add password box.

  4. Click Save password.

Anyone without a share link who visits your mural must enter the password to join it.

Now you're ready to unlock the power of MURAL and collaboratively create cool stuff! ✨


Removing members from a mural

  1. Click on the members icon on the top right of your mural.

  2. Click Manage mural members.

  3. Here, you can either remove using the more actions (gear) icon or the trash icon.

  • To remove with the more actions (gear) icon
    a. Find the member you want to remove.
    b. Hover your cursor to the right of the member's email.
    c. Click the More actions (gear) icon.
    d. Click Remove member.
    f. Click Remove in the confirmation modal.

  • To remove with the delete (trash icon)
    a. Find the member you want to remove.
    b. Scroll all the way to the right side of the row.
    c. Click the Remove member (trash) icon.
    d. Click Remove in the confirmation modal.

Did this answer your question?