Your workspace is where you collaborate with your teammates in MURAL. It’s where the rooms and their murals are housed; think of it as your virtual office building.

Here is the basic structure of MURAL:

*Specifications:

You can think of rooms as folders to help you keep your murals organized -- your teammates can create as many rooms as needed within the one workspace you will share.

Here are a few recommendations for organizing your rooms and murals:

  • Create different rooms for different projects or workgroups when you need to share items with different groups of people. This article explains how to create a new room.

  • Members-only see rooms they have access to, so it’s easy for them to locate their content.

  • Consider naming conventions to keep rooms organized on the left menu. For example, you can use T.Teamname for team rooms, P.Projectname for projects, and C.Coursename for courses. A short prefix groups items together in the left navigation without taking up much space.

  • Name murals with the title of the activity or project to make it easier to find them later.include the version or the date the mural was created, if you're planning to make multiple versions of the mural. Put the date or version in the beginning of the title, so it’s visible from the thumbnail view on the dashboard.

  • It's more efficient to have numerous rooms with a few murals in them than to have a few rooms with a huge variety of murals within them. However, our new search tool (command+K) helps a lot if you feel a room is filling up.

  • Use open rooms for murals you want to make accessible to your whole team. For example, open rooms are often used for example murals, outputs from collaboration sessions that you want easily referenced, team stand-up murals, training content, best practices, and styling guides.

Anyone who is a member of a workspace can join any open room in that workspace.

Remember to remove any sensitive content from a mural before moving it to an open room.

  • Use private rooms when you only want to invite a certain group of people to participate in a workstream. This helps to keep other members' dashboard view clean and organized -- they only see the private rooms they have been invited to. When newcomers join MURAL, a private room is automatically created for their personal asynchronous work as well.

  • Confidential rooms can be enabled where administrators desire content to not be duplicated outside of that room (configurable at Company Admin level). Confidential rooms have the following restrictions:

You can only invite people via email and not via invitation link

Confidential rooms can not be turned into private or open rooms

Confidential rooms can only be created, an existing room can not be made confidential

You can not move nor duplicate murals outside of a confidential room

You can not move a confidential to another workspace

You can not duplicate a confidential room

This article explains how to use and create confidential rooms.

*Specifications: Confidential rooms are only available to Enterprise plans upon request

  • When you mouse over the name of a room, a Star icon will appear. Clicking on this will add the room to your favorites, and will always be at the top of your room list. I recommend that each member stars the top 3-5 rooms they work within for easy access.

To keep rooms clean, we recommend using the ‘Archive’ option to hide individual murals no longer being referenced. When looking at the list of murals, just select the small dropdown menu in the upper right corner of each mural's thumbnail to select ‘Archive’. This article explains how to archive murals.

Now you're ready to create and collaborate efficiently!

Did this answer your question?