Collaboration often happens with people who are not a part of your company or organization. By allowing guests on your account, you can broaden visual partnership and bring forth innovation in a way that is both secure and effective.

Guests are only available to our Enterprise or Business plan members as well as members of our Education and Consultant plans. You can have unlimited guests for free on both our Enterprise and Business plans.

Index

What exactly are guests?

Inviting guests to a workspace

Removing guests from a workspace

Inviting guests to a room

Removing guests from a room

Inviting guests to a mural

Removing guests from a mural

Managing guests (deactivate and reactivate)

So, what exactly are guests?

Guests are:

  • An identified profile. Guests have a profile, and are not anonymous. This functionality is built for collaborators who do not share your company domain. Anyone who's email address does not use your company domain (such as ____.com) will be invited in as a guest.

  • Limited in feature use. See more on this, below.

  • Limited in time (optional). After two weeks without logging into your content, guests lose access (unless be reactivated by a Member or Administrator. ). This can be turned off in the Workspace settings.

Guests have a profile with a MURAL identity, and they may:

  • view and edit content in murals.

  • accept invitations to join workspaces, open rooms, private rooms, and murals.

  • receive Slack or e-mail notifications.

The following table demonstrates guest capabilities in comparison to other collaborator types in MURAL:

*Specifications:

  • Guest permissions can be activated, deactivated, or fully disabled by the Administrator at any time. Guest permissions expire after 14 days of inactivity.

Inviting Guests to a workspace:

Inviting guests to a workspace is similar to inviting a member. Anyone that does not share your company domain will be invited in as a guest.

*Specification: When an external collaborator is invited in as a guest to the entire workspace, they will not have access to any murals or rooms unless invited into them. See Invite guests to a room (anchor link here) and Invite guests to a mural (anchor link here)for more information.

Here's how you can invite a guest to a workspace via email:

  1. On your MURAL dashboard, click on the Invite button in the top right-hand corner.

  2. Put in the email under where it says Invite people by email address.

  3. Type in the email(s) and press the Enter key.

  4. Select Send invites.

Or

  1. Click on the drop-down arrow on the upper left-hand corner of the dashboard.

  2. Select Invite people to this workspace.

  3. Type in the external collaborators email under Invite people by email.

  4. Add a personalized welcome message if you would like. Once you are ready, click Send invitation(s).

To invite a guest to a workspace using an invitation link:

  1. On your MURAL dashboard, click on the Invite button in the top right-hand corner.

  2. Click Create Link.

  3. Click Copy.

  4. Share with external collaborators.

5. To revoke access via the share link, click Delete link to revoke access.

Or

  1. Click on the drop-down arrow in the upper left-hand corner of the dashboard.

  2. Select Invite people to this workspace.

  3. Click Copy link.

  4. Share with external collaborators.

  5. To revoke access via the share link, click Delete link to revoke access.

To remove guests from a workspace:

  1. Click on the dropdown menu where your workspace name is in the top left.

  2. Select Workspace members.

  3. Select the Guests tab where you can either:
    A. i. Hover your cursor to the right of the guest's email.
    ii. Click on the gear icon.

    iii Select Remove guest.

B. i. Hover to the right of the guest you would like to remove.

ii. Click on the trash icon.

iii. Click Remove on the pop-up menu.

Inviting guests to a room

When you invite a guest to a room, they will be able to see and access all murals inside that room.

How to invite a guest to a room via email:

  1. Enter the room.

  2. Click on the pink Share button in the top toolbar.

  3. Type the email of the person you want to invite, or send them an invitation link.

  4. Press Enter.

  5. Click Send invite(s).

How to invite a guest to a room via invite link:

  1. Enter the room.

  2. Click on the pink Share button in the top toolbar.

  3. Type the email of the person you want to invite, or send them an invitation link.

  4. Press Enter.

  5. Click Send invite(s).

6. To revoke room access via the share link, click Delete link to revoke access.

To remove a guest from a room:

  1. From within the room, click on the Members icon in the top-right.

  2. Select Manage room members.

  3. Here you can either:

    A. i. Hover your cursor next to the guest's email you would like to remove.

    ii. Click on the gear icon.

    iii. Select Remove guest.

B. i. Scroll to the right of the guest's email.

ii. Click on the trash icon.

iii. Click Remove from mural on the pop-up menu.






Inviting Guests to a mural

When you invite a guest to a private mural, they will be able to see the name of the private room the mural belongs to. However, they won’t be able to see other murals inside that room unless they were invited to those other murals. Anyone that does not share your company's email domain will be invited as a guest.

To invite guests to a mural via email:

  1. Enter the mural.

  2. Click on the pink Share button in the top right.

  3. Click Email or name.

  4. Enter the email address.

  5. Press Enter.

  6. Select view or edit.

  7. Add a custom message if you wish.

  8. Click Send invites.

To invite guests to a mural via invite link:

  1. Enter the mural.

  2. Click on the pink Share button in the top right.

  3. Click Copy link.

  4. Share the link with external collaborators.

5. To reset the link, click the Reset link button on the right of the link.

To remove a guest from a mural:

  1. From within the mural, click on the Members icon on the top-right.

  2. Select Manage mural members.

  3. Here you can either:

    A. i. Hover next to the guest's email you would like to remove.

    ii. Click on the gear icon.

    iii. Select Remove guest.


    B. i. Scroll to the right of the guest's email.

    ii. Click on the trash icon.

    iii. Click Remove from mural on the pop-up menu.



Managing guests

Admins can manage permissions of guest collaborators in the list of workspace members.

  • A guest automatically becomes inactive after 14 days of inactivity..

  • After 14 days, a workspace admin must reactivate them so they can re-enter the workspace.

From your Guests list on the workspace members page, you can reactivate or remove guests.

To access your guest list:

  1. Click on the dropdown menu where your workspace name is in the top left.

  2. Select Workspace members.

  3. Select the Guests tab.

To deactivate guests:

  1. Hover to the right of the guest's email.

  2. Click on the gear icon.

  3. Select Deactivate guest.

To reactivate guests:

  1. Hover to the right of the guest's email.

  2. Click on the gear icon.

  3. Select Reactivate guest.

If you are the admin of the workspace, you can choose whether guests are deactivated after 14 days.

Here’s how to switch on/off the deactivate after 14 days feature:

  1. Click on the workspace name dropdown menu in the top left.

  2. Select Manage [workspace].

  3. At the top of the screen, there is the option Deactivate after 14 days.

  4. Click the checkmark box to turn the feature off or on.

  5. Click the Save changes button at the bottom of the window.

Now you're ready to bring a team to your big tasks, safely and securely!

*If you have questions regarding Enterprise/Business and Guest collaborators for your company’s workspace, please contact support@mural.co. Note that Guest users are not currently available on the Free or Teams+ workspaces.

Did this answer your question?